News and Tribune

August 24, 2012

School board candidates filed in Clark, Floyd counties

New candidates and incumbents on ballot


> SOUTHERN INDIANA — Some fresh faces will mix with familiar incumbents on the ballots for school boards in Clark and Floyd counties in November.

In Greater Clark County Schools, District 2 incumbent Ernie Gilbert dropped out of the race, but three new faces — Vickie Boisseau, Clay Anthony “Tony” Hall and Fred Krenke, will vie for his seat in November.

Board president Christina Gilkey faces former Courier-Journal columnist Dale Moss for the District 5 seat. Gilkey has held the district since 2008.

In District 6, school board appointee Jerry White filed to run for his seat again. He was appointed to the spot just more than a year ago and will now face Alice Dorman Butler, who regularly attends board meetings.

Becka Christensen has filed to keep her seat in District 7 and will campaign against Teresa Bottorff-Perkins. Christensen has held the position of board president. Perkins unsuccessfully ran for the Democratic nomination for Jeffersonville mayor in 2011.

In Clarksville Community Schools, Jim Bemiss has the only contested seat of the three districts up for election this year. He’ll run against Michael Sparkman and Lynn Wilson.

Bill Wilson, the board president, and Andy Bramer run unopposed for their seats in District 2 and 5, respectively.

In West Clark Community Schools, Joe Basham will run for one of two at-large seats against Richard Graf, Robin Long, Nick Ray and Celia Adams Winters.

Teresa Guthrie, the board’s at-large appointee after Sandra Furnish Banet died in April, will not run for her seat again.

In New Albany-Floyd County Schools, District 3 seat-holder Neal Smith did not file to run, but the seat remains contested. George Gauntt and Garrod Sieveking will vie for the position.

Lee Cotner, the board’s appointee to the at-large seat after Patricia Badger-Byrd left it, faces Sue Barlow and former board member Don Sakel.

Rebecca Gardenour will defend her District 4 seat and faces Ralph Dooley.

Greater Clark candidates

District 2

Vickie Boisseau

Clay Anthony “Tony” Hall

Fred W. Krenke

District 5

Dale Moss

Christina Gilkey

District 6

Alice Dorman Butler

Jerry White

District 7

Teresa Bottorff-Perkins

Becka Christensen

New Albany-Floyd County Schools


Sue Barlow

Lee Cotner

Don Sakel

District 3

George Gauntt

Garrod Sieveking

District 4

Ralph Edward Dooley

Rebecca Gardenour

West Clark [vote for 2]


Joe Basham

Richard L. Graf

Robin Long

Nick Ray

Celia Adams Winters


District 1

Jim Bemiss

Michael Sparkman

Lynn Wilson

District 2

Bill Wilson

District 5

Andy Bramer