News and Tribune

Clark County Sports

December 24, 2013

H.S. CROSS COUNTRY: Magallanes brothers, Henryville duo named All-State

Several runners make Honorable Mention team

> SOUTHERN INDIANA — Borden brothers Julien and Nathen Magallanes were named to the 2013 IATCCC Boys’ Cross Country first team Class A All-State on Thursday.

Julien Magallanes — a sophomore — was named News and Tribune Runner of the Year after winning championships at the Crawford County Sectional and Regional this fall. He also finished 40th at the Brown County Semistate and became the second Brave to qualify for the state meet.

Senior Nathen Magallanes also had a strong season before breathing issues slowed him in the postseason. He finished 31st at the sectional and 25th at the regional.

Borden teammates George and Gavin Tipker were named Class A honorable mention. George Tipker , who is a senior, placed sixth at the sectional, while Gavin — a junior — was seventh at the sectional and 18th at the regional.

Borden finished third as a team at the sectional and was fifth in the regional to qualfy for semistate for consecutive seasons.

Also earning honorable mention were Henryville junior Jacob Hedrick and Eastern junior Khalil McDaniel. Hedrick finished third at the Southwestern Sectional. McDaniel was 16th at the Bedford North Lawrence Sectional.

North Harrison junior Daniel Fleece made the Class 3A first team.

State champion Jackson Bertoli of Terre Haute South was named the Class 4A Runner of the Year. In Class 3A it was West Lafayette’s Cooper Williams, Sawyer Miller of South Adams was Class 2A’s top runner and Barr-Reeve’s Jarit Perkins was named the best runner in Class A.

On  the girls’ side, Henryville senior Sadie Spears and freshman Cia Greene earned Class 2A first-team honors. Greene finished third in the Southwestern Sectional, was 10th at the Brown County Regional and earned a spot in the state meet at Terre Haute with a 23rd-place finish at the semistate at Brown County. Spears finished sixth at the sectional and ninth at the regional.

Floyd Central’s Lydia Kotowski — a two-time News and Tribune Runner of the Year — was named Class 4A honorable mention, as was teammate Kassidy Manning. Both are sophomores.

Silver Creek’s Maggie Shields was Class 3A honorable mention and New Washiington freshman Olivia Graebe made the Class A honorable mention list.

North Harrison junior Ashton Bosler made the Class 3A firstteam.

Carmel state champion Kelcy Welch was named Class 4A Runner of the Year. Bellmont’s Bailey Beery won the Class 3A honor, Fremont’s Abigail Hostettler won it in Class 2A and Oldenburg Academy’s Sarah Billingsley was named Class A’s top runner.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Clark County Sports
Twitter Updates
Follow us on twitter