News and Tribune

Election 2010

November 3, 2010

INDIANA: Rhonda Rhoads takes District 70 seat from veteran Robertson

Democrat Terry Goodin retains seat

> SOUTHERN INDIANA — The Republican Election Day wave hit Statehouse races touching Southern Indiana, including the defeat of a 34-year legislator.

Republican Rhonda Rhoads, a Harrison County Councilwoman, beat Democrat incumbent Paul Robertson for the District 70 seat, The Associated Press reported.

Rhoads pointed to regulation as the culprit behind the sputtering economy in an election preview interview with The Evening News and The Tribune.

“You can’t keep regulating and taxing people,” she said.

She didn’t know which specific regulations she would like to see taken off the books.

When it comes to state revenue and the budget, she said she wants to look at reducing income taxes. She also said she wants to find a way for the state to reduce the number of retired people leaving Indiana. The insolvent unemployment fund will take cooperation from both sides of the aisle, she said.

“It’s not going to be a pretty thing to deal with,” she said.

Indiana House District 70 includes most of Harrison County; a small section of western Floyd County; and the western half of Clark County. Communities include Corydon, Lanesville, Greenville, Sellersburg and Elizabeth.


In District 66, incumbent Terry Goodin, a Democrat, retained his seat by defeating Republican Jim Lucas, a Seymour business owner, according to The Associated Press.

Goodin, superintendent at Crothersville Community Schools, told The Evening News and The Tribune for an election preview, that the state needs to consider tax incentives not only for those creating jobs but also those retaining employees as well.

“We got to find a way to support the companies that aren’t laying people off,” he said.

Goodin said legislators cannot consider raising taxes as a possible answer to state budget questions, but rather said “we’re going to have to look at cuts across the board” if revenue shortfall projections hold true.

Indiana House District 66 includes most of southeast Jackson County; Marion Township in Jennings County; three townships in Scott County; and eastern Clark County. Communities in the district include Crothersville, Scottsburg, New Washington, Charlestown, Seymour and Brownstown.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Election 2010
2013 Photos of the year

Take a look at our most memorable photos from 2013.

Twitter Updates
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
AP Video
Captain of Sunken SKorean Ferry Arrested Raw: Fire Destroys 3 N.J. Beachfront Homes Raw: Pope Presides Over Good Friday Mass Raw: Space X Launches to Space Station Superheroes Descend on Capitol Mall Man Charged in Kansas City Highway Shootings Obama Awards Navy Football Trophy Anti-semitic Leaflets Posted in Eastern Ukraine Raw: Magnitude-7.2 Earthquake Shakes Mexico City Ceremony at MIT Remembers One of Boston's Finest Raw: Students Hurt in Colo. School Bus Crash Raw: Church Tries for Record With Chalk Jesus Raw: Faithful Celebrate Good Friday Worldwide Deadly Avalanche Sweeps Slopes of Mount Everest Police Arrest Suspect in Highway Shootings Drought Concerns May Hurt Lake Tourism Vermont Goat Meat Gives Refugees Taste of Home Calif. Investigators Re-construct Fatal Bus Cras Mayor Rob Ford Launches Re-election Campaign Appellate Court Hears Okla. Gay Marriage Case
2013 Photos of the year

Take a look at our most memorable photos from 2013.