News and Tribune

January 19, 2014

H.S. WRESTLING: Floyd Central comes up short of HHC title repeat

Charlestown wins SIWC championship


BEDFORD — Floyd Central fell a few points short of repeating as Hoosier Hills Conference champions on Saturday at Bedford North Lawrence High School.

The Highlanders finished second in the HHC meet with 202 1/2 points, 4 1/2 points behind conference champion Jennings County.

Four Floyd Central wrestlers captured Hoosier Hills titles. In the 113-pound final, the Highlanders’ Jarrod Cunningham won by major decision over Jeffersonville’s Stevie Jones, 17-0. Floyd Central’s Sean Brown followed Cunningham’s title by winning the 120-pound championship bout with a pin of the Red Devils’ Tavion Lucas at the 1:16 mark.

The Highlanders’ Cory Troutman earned a major decision to claim the 152-pound crown, knocking off Jennings County’s Colton Pifer in the final by a 15-3 score. Floyd Central’s Chase Herron won the 170-pound title bout by decision over Columbus East’s Jimmy Fisher, 5-3.

The Highlanders’ Austin Ward (132) and Franklin Korte (285) each finished second in their respective weight classes. Floyd Central’s Lance Youtsey ended up third at 182 pounds after entering the meet as a No. 1 seed. Also for the Highlanders, Nick Burkland finished fourth, Drew Davis, Wayne Nicholas, Max Hauser and John Stroble each placed fifth and Karl Hauser and Tobin Smith each ended up sixth.

Floyd Central’s conference championship hopes took a blow on Friday afternoon when 126-pound wrestler Tyler Crowl suffered a season-ending injury in practice.

“The team could have laid down, but they battled all day,” Highlanders’ coach Brandon Sisson said. “The injury is not an excuse as we left team points out on the mat. We have to keep improving as the season moves on. I’m proud of our boys.”

Jeff wound up fifth in the team standings with 158 points. Senior Gavan Jolley-Little was the Red Devils’ lone HHC champion, as he just needed 51 seconds to pin Korte in the 285-pound final.

Joining Jones and Lucas as conference runners-up for Jeff were Chase Thompson at 195.

New Albany placed sixth in the team standings with 148 points. The Bulldogs had no conference champions, but had two wrestlers finish second. The runners-up were Romarro Bradford (126) and Hunter Castleberry (145).


Charlestown tallied 214 points to claim the Southern Indiana Wrestling Conference meet on Saturday at Southwestern. The Pirates finished 11 points ahead of runner-up Milan.

Charlestown had three individual champions. The Pirates’ Luke Woods won the 113-pound title as he recorded a pin in the final at the 3:26 mark. Teammate Zach Higdon captured the 170-pound crown by winning his title bout by a 7-6 decision. Charlestown’s Josh Hurley was the 220-pound champion as he won his final with a pin at the 5:43 mark.

Teammate Bryant Haynes was the runner-up at 126 pounds, and the Pirates’ Antonyo Gaddie finished fourth at 152.

New Washington wound up third with 180 1/2 points. Eastern finished sixth with 129 points, while Providence was ninth with 104 points. Christian Academy placed 14th with 18 points.

The Mustangs took home four individual SIWC championships. New Washington freshman Noah Franklin won his first-ever conference crown, defeating Eastern’s Jordan Gray in the 106-pound final by a 2-0 decision. In the 132-pound final, the Mustangs’ James Wise prevailed by major decision, 16-4.

New Wash’s Yancey Crase earned the 138-pound championship as he won his title bout by an 8-5 decision. In the 160-pound final, Mustang senior Jacob Franklin claimed his SIWC title by winning with a pin at the 3:15 mark.

Brayton Brading provided Eastern’s own individual championship, beating New Washington’s Dalton Bingham by a 13-5 decision.

Providence’s Matt Hayes won the 182-pound final by a 4-2 decision.