News and Tribune

June 13, 2014

H.S. BASEBALL: Ellis named district’s top player

Jeff senior also tops Hoosier Hills list


JEFFERSONVILLE —  Jeffersonville senior and future Louisville Cardinal Drew Ellis was named the Indiana District N Baseball Player of the Year and was selected as first-team All-Hoosier Hills Conference on Wednesday.

Ellis, who committed to Louisville as a freshman, batted .470 with an on-base percentage of .790 in 2014. He had six home runs, 12 doubles, 22 runs batted in and scored 38 times as a senior. He was named to the IHSBCA All-State team following his junior year and is now eligible to become the 2014 IHSBCA Indiana Player of the Year.

“It’s an honor and a blessing to get recognized,” Ellis said. “I don’t take anything for granted when I receive these awards.”

Ellis was one of three Red Devils named to the All-HHC team, which was dominated by local players.  He’s joined by Jeff senior ace Chandler Dale, who went 10-4 with a 1.90 ER in his senior season, and senior third baseman/pitcher Josh Burke, who batted .368 with 12 doubles and 22 RBIs, from the three-time defending sectional champion Devils. All three were members of Jeff/GRC’s 2008 and 2010 Little League World Series teams.

New Albany and Floyd Central also had three all-conference players each. New Albany shortstop Jack Shine, senior second baseman Tucker Marcum and senior pitcher Brandon Johnson, who will pitch at Xavier next season, were all named to the first team from the 26-5 Bulldogs team that made it to the sectional championship game.

Floyd Central had three juniors on the first team in pitcher/outfielder Brandon Smith, third baseman Colton Kimm and pitcher Kyle Beach. The Highlanders went 25-5 and were ranked second in Class 4A at the end of the regular season.

Drew Ellis’s brother, sophomore Ian Ellis was on the honorable mention list with New Albany’s Brady Parr.

Columbus East coach Jon Gratz was named Coach of the Year after the Olympians beat three-time defending champion Jeffersonville in the HHC Tournament championship game.



Drew Ellis, Jeffersonville

Chandler Dale, Jeffersonville

Josh Burke, Jeffersonville

Tucker Marcum, New Albany

Jack Shine, New Albany

Brandon Johnson, New Albany

Brandon Smith, Floyd Central

Colton Kimm, Floyd Central

Kyle Beach, Floyd Central

Will Anderson, Columbus East

Cam Curry, Columbus East

Christian Wichman, Columbus East

Tyler Reedy, Seymour

Clark Vaughn, Madison

Tanner Tow, Bedford North Lawrence


Ian Ellis, Jeffersonville

Chase Dover, Seymour

Brady Parr, New Albany

Takahiro Yamada, Columbus East

Tanner Sully, Madison


Jon Gratz, Columbus East