News and Tribune

November 26, 2012

SPORTS IN BRIEF: Nov. 27, 2012



Franz to be inducted into Hall of Fame

Local basketball great Chuck Franz has been named one of the inductees into the 52nd men’s induction class into the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame.  

Franz was a player at Clarksville High School. While at Clarksville, Franz broke 24 school records, including a 51-point game performance in the 1979 sectional championship win over New Albany. Franz also was a member of Indiana University’s 1981 NCAA national champions.

The annual Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame men’s awards banquet will be held on Wednesday, March 20. The day’s events will include a reception at the Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame museum in New Castle in the afternoon with the banquet in the evening at the Primo Banquet Hall in Indianapolis. Tickets will be available in early 2013. For more information, call 765-529-1891 or visit


Charlestown athletes make all-MSC teams

Athletes from Charlestown High School who made the all-Mid-Southern Conference teams in their respective sports have been announced.

They include the following: girls’ cross country — Whitney Andrews made the all-conference team; Alysha Flaget was an honorable-mention pick; football — Aaron Daniel, Leighton Brewer, Seth McCutchen, Matt Myers, Gage Brafford and Desmond Wiley made the team; Jake Harper, Tyler Odle and Jimmy Garcia were named honorable mention and head coach Jason Hawkins was named coach of the year; girls’ golf — Marissa Knoebel made the team; girls’ soccer — Jackie Fry made the team; boys’ soccer — Cesar Hernandez, Rodrigo Martinez made the team and Jose Arredondo and Michael Navetta were honorable mention; boys’ tennis — Chris Braun made the team and Tyler Massie was honorable mention; volleyball — Emily Young made the team.


All-MSC team announced

The all-Mid-Southern Conference team has been announced.

Clark County players making the squad were Emily Young from Charlestown, Ali Sparkman from Clarksville and Alex Carlton and Haley Garr from Silver Creek.

The rest of the team includes Brenna Oeffinger from Austin, Abigail Shade and Hallie Wessel from Brownstown Central, Payton Windell from Corydon Central, Krista Roberts from Eastern, Jill Book from North Harrison, Bailey Walker from Salem and Macy Lakins from Scottsburg.

Silver Creek’s Sammi Smith was the only Clark County player to receive honorable-mention votes. Joining Smith on the honorable-mention list were Meagan Hollan from Austin, Nicole Thomas from Brownstown, Catherine Day from Corydon, Whitney Sacksteder from Eastern, Brooke Lamon from North Harrison and Cortney Greene from Salem. Brownstown coach Jennifer Shade was named MSC Coach of the Year.


C’town season photos on sale

The Charlestown football program will be selling until Dec. 7 a three-disc set of more than 1,000 digital photos of the historic 2012 Charlestown football season.

This three-disc set is $20 and orders can be sent to Melissa Stewart at Charlestown High School, 1 Pirate Place, Charlestown, IN 47111. For more information, contact Stewart at