News and Tribune

Recent Local News

March 5, 2013

Clark Dems, GOP elect officers

New faces appear on both parties’ central committees

JEFFERSONVILLE — The Clark County Republican and Democratic parties elected new officers to their central committees at separate Saturday meetings. 

Unanimously elected to his second term as Clark County GOP chairman was Jamey Noel, an Indiana State Police assistant district commander and chief of New Chapel Fire and EMS. Noel oversaw historic Republican gains during his first term, including seizing control of the Clark County Board of Commissioners for the first time in the history of the county. Additionally, control of the Clark County Council, the Jeffersonville City Council, the Jeffersonville mayor’s office and the Clark County offices of auditor, treasurer and coroner went to the Republicans for the first time in county history during Noel’s first term. 

Elected to his first full term as the chairman of the Clark County Democratic Party was Bob Bottorff, an attorney with Applegate Fifer Pulliam. Bottorff took the reins of the party after the resignation of Rod Pate in June. His first election to the post was unopposed. 

“The Clark County Democratic Party has a long-standing tradition of electing public servants who serve our local communities with honesty, integrity and a commitment to put community first,” Bottorff said in a press release, “and it is my goal to make sure the citizens of Clark County continue to be served by those traditional values.”

Joining Noel on the county GOP central committee is Jennifer McFarland, who was elected to her first term as the party’s vice chairman. McFarland is a retired U.S. Army intelligence analyst, civilian intelligence analyst with the U.S. Naval Criminal Investigative Service and Air Force Reserve flight nurse. She lives in Charlestown and serves as a member of the Clark County Common Wage Board. 

Charles Bryant was re-elected to his post as Clark GOP treasurer, while newcomer Jamie Hudgins was elected secretary. 

“I’m really excited about the team,” Noel said. 

Nancy Kraft was re-elected to her post as the county Democrats’ vice chairman. Kraft serves on the Greater Clark County Schools board of trustees and the Clark-Floyd Regional Tourism Bureau. 

Two newcomers round out the Clark Dems’ central committee. Jeff Caldwell will serve as secretary, and Elizabeth Wilkerson will serve as treasurer.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Recent Local News
Easter 2014 photos

Click on any photo to purchase it.

Twitter Updates
Follow us on twitter
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
AP Video
Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
2013 Photos of the year

Take a look at our most memorable photos from 2013.