News and Tribune

March 27, 2014

HIGH SCHOOL BOYS' BASKETBALL: Nine locals named IBCA All-State honorable mention

Five area players get votes for senior team


INDIANAPOLIS — Nine players from the Clark-Floyd area have made honorable-mention lists for both Indiana Basketball Coaches Association/Subway All-State boys’ basketball teams. The squads were announced on Thursday.

There were five area players who received honorable-mention votes for the IBCA Boys’ Senior All-State team.

Two were from Class 2A sectional and regional champion Clarksville in senior guards Calvin McEwen and Andrew Jones. McEwen led the Generals in scoring (19.5 points per game) and assists (six per contest) this season. Jones averaged 18.5 points per game.

Jeffersonville also had two players who got honorable-mention consideration in senior forward Drew Ellis and senior guard Keenan Williams. Each player got selected to this year’s All-Hoosier Hills Conference team.

New Albany senior guard Leondre McBirth joins the four players on the honorable-mention list. McBirth paced the Bulldogs in scoring during the 2013-14 campaign, averaging around 17 points per game. He also earned a spot on the All-HHC team.

Lanesville senior Jack Ferree also got honorable-mention votes for the team.

The top three candidates for Indiana Mr. Basketball made the Senior All-State squad in Marion’s James Blackmon Jr., Indianapolis Park Tudor’s Trevon Bluiett and Indianapolis Tech’s Trey Lyles.

The rest of the squad consists of Guerin Catholic’s Aaron Brennan, Fort Wayne North’s Trevion Crews, Evansville Harrison’s Ernie Duncan, Mooresville’s Jacob Johnson, Bowman Academy’s Justin King, Greensburg’s Bryant McIntosh, Carmel’s Zach McRoberts, Kokomo’s Tayler Persons, Greensburg's Sean Sellers, Indianapolis Brebeuf’s P.J. Thompson, Indianapolis Tech’s Jeremie Tyler and Lake Central’s Tyler Wideman.

Four area players were honorable-mention picks for the Boys’ Underclass All-State team.

Two of them are juniors in Rock Creek Academy guard Will Brown and Christian Academy swingman Nic Reed. Brown was the Lions’ leading scorer last season at 15.7 points per game along with averaging 4.4 assists and 2.8 steals per contest.

Reed led the Warriors in scoring at 15 points a clip. He also grabbed seven rebounds per game.

Silver Creek sophomore center Christian Reed received honorable-mention votes. He paced the Dragons in scoring (11.3), rebounds (8.7) and blocked shots (2.5) in 2013-14.

The fourth area player on the honorable-mention list is New Albany freshman guard Isaac Hibbard. Two Harrison County players earned honorable-mention status in Lanesville’s Joe Ferree and Corydon Central’s Bronson Kessinger.

Making the Boys’ Underclass All-State team were Indianapolis Scecina’s Gary Bonds, Indianapolis Howe’s Harris Brown, Carmel’s Ryan Cline, Bowman Academy’s Davon Dillard, East Chicago Central’s Hyron Edwards, Penn’s Jordan Geist, Indianapolis Ben Davis’ Brennan Gillis, Indianapolis North Central’s Eron Gordon, Munster’s Drew Hackett, Guerin Catholic’s Matt Holba, Richmond’s Joel Okafor, Chesterton’s Chris Palombizio, Columbus North’s Josh Speidel, Homestead’s Caleb Swanigan and Brownsburg’s K.J. Walton.


McBirth and McEwen got selected on Thursday to participate in the 27th annual Hoosier Basketball Magazine Top 60 Senior Boys’ Workout.

The area standouts will compete alongside some of the best senior players in the state on Sunday, April 6 at Marian University in Indianapolis.

The top 60 players were chosen from the magazine’s top 100 list. Jones and Williams made the top 100 list, but were not invited to the Top 60 Workout.