News and Tribune

June 12, 2014

IUS wins Commissioner’s Cup for fifth time in six years

Heines, Lucas earn NFCA recognition


NEW ALBANY — Indiana University Southeast won the KIAC Commissioner’s Cup for the fifth time in six years, conference officials announced Wednesday, June 11. The award uses an average of the conference teams’ regular-season performances to determine a winner.

IU Southeast claimed regular-season championships in men’s basketball, women’s tennis and softball.

Last year’s winner, Point Park, finished third.

The Commissioner’s Cup runner-up was Asbury University. The Eagles earned regular season championships in men’s tennis and volleyball.


IU Southeast    10.86

Asbury    8.46

Point Park    8.36

Brescia    8.07

IU East    7.7

Berea    7.43

CCU    7.43

IU Kokomo    6.5

Carlow    6.33

STLCOP    6.22

Midway    6.14

Alice Lloyd    5.56


Freshmen Katelyn Heines and Shelby Lucas were named to the National Fastpitch Coaches Association All-Region team Tuesday.

Heines — a second baseman from Louisville’s Holy Cross High School — was named to the Midwest Region first team. Heines hit .351 and tied for second on the team with 10 doubles. She stole 15 bases which tied for the team lead with Morgan Klosterman.

“Katelyn is very deserving of her honor as she put many hours of hard work in before most people wake up in the morning,” Grenadier head coach Joe Witten said. “As a freshman, the sky is the limit for her with her great talent and work ethic.”

Lucas — a catcher from Columbus North — was named to the Midwest Region second team. Lucas led the team with a .421 batting average which ranked fourth in the conference. She led the nation in triples with 10. She was first in the KIAC in hits (58), and triples (10), fifth in slugging percentage (.674), second in runs scored (40) and fifth in runs batted in (36).

Lucas was named the KIAC Player of the Year in May.

“Shelby has a passion and desire to be the best at everything she does,” Witten said. “She has the ability to make others around her better because of the standards that she sets for herself.

“Both student-athletes exemplify what it takes to be a Grenadier.”


The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) and Sports Information Directors of America (SIDA) held its annual NAIA-SIDA Convention earlier this week and announced the publication winners for the 2013-14 academic year.

The Indiana University Southeast athletic department and Grenadier sports information director Stephen Utz were honored in the category for Best NAIA Athletics Website. The official website for IU Southeast athletics, finished tied for fifth in the contest with MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.). There were 55 entries in the category.

“It’s a great honor to finish the year with a top-five website in the country,” Utz said. “There were many great websites nominated, so I am glad we were able to tie for fifth. Our main objective is to provide our fans with great access to all the information they need to follow the Grenadiers, and I hope we have been able to do that.”

The website underwent a complete redesign and launched in August 2012.

“This website is a very important piece of the department’s branding,” IU Southeast athletic director Joe Glover said. “Making this distinguished list is a tremendous honor for our entire university. I can’t thank our sports information director, Stephen Utz, enough for all his hard work in building and maintaining the website.”

“Many people on our campus helped make this website a success through a lot of work and effort,” Utz said. “None of this would have been possible without the dedication and hard work of our student-athletes and coaches. They have made the destination for the latest information regarding Grenadier athletics.”

IU Southeast competed in the category for contracted websites. The website is part of the SIDHELP network of athletic websites.

“SIDHELP is always great to work with,” Utz said. “I want to thank Greg Black and the rest of his staff for all of their tremendous hard work and help throughout the year.”