Local Lilly Scholars named - News and Tribune: Clark County

Local Lilly Scholars named

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Friday, April 18, 2014 6:09 pm

Four high school seniors will get a full ride to a college of their choice in Indiana with a Southern Indiana Lilly Endowment Community scholarship.

A press release from the Community Foundation of Southern Indiana named Brett Brooks at Charlestown High School, Jeremiah Wilkinson at Rock Creek Community Academy and Jesse DeMuth and Dane Schmidt, both at New Albany High School, as this year’s recipients.

The students each get a four-year full-tuition scholarship with $900 annually for books and equipment.

Crystal Gunther, grants and program officer for the foundation, said in the release that she’s glad the Lilly Endowment offers this scholarship to students in Clark and Floyd counties.

“We couldn’t be more thankful for this generous program from Lilly Endowment Inc. which provides funding through our Foundation for two recipients in each county,” Gunther said. “Through their generosity this program provides opportunities for youth in our community that will positively impact them for the rest of their lives.”

The finalists were selected from 186 applicants this year and each interviewed. The winners must declare their accredited state college and bachelors degree of choice by May 1. Statewide, 143 scholarships were awarded.


To view more photos, visit newsandtribune.smugmug.com