HIGH SCHOOL BASKETBALL: Henning named MSC Player of Year

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Thursday, March 20, 2014 11:38 pm

Charlestown junior guard Kaitlynn Henning, who averaged 19.8 points, 3.3 rebounds and 2.9 steals per game, was named Mid-Southern Conference Player of the Year by the league coaches.

Henning scored 66 points in three sectional games to help the Pirates upset Scottsburg and Brownstown Central before falling to Madison in the championship game of the Charlestown Sectional in February.

Led by Henning and fellow-All-MSC performer Justice Burdin, the Pirates improved by five wins in 2013-14, finishing 15-8 in the first season under coach Michael Prichard.

Eastern senior guard Katie Ernstberger, who helped the Musketeers win their first sectional title since 1996, was also named to the first team, along with Salem’s Alex Davidson, North Harrison’s Kendra Lambert, Brownstown’s Brooke Ebbing, Austin’s Megan Smith and the Scottsburg duo of Ashley Elliott and Kelsey Smith.

Silver Creek junior Kelsi Scott and Clarksville senior Haley Jenkins were both honorable mention.

Brownstown Central’s Kayla Rieckers and Scottsburg’s Donna Cheatham were named co-MSC Coaches of the Year.


Rock Creek’s Will Brown and Borden’s Carson Casey were two of 69 Hoosier basketball players named first-team Academic All-State on Thursday.

The IBCA Academic All-State team is a program where academic prowess and athletic prowess are both considered in the selections. Items such as grade-point average, college board scores and academic class rank are considered along with athletic performance in areas such as points per game, rebounds per game, assists per game and shooting percentage.

IBCA-member head coaches from schools across the state may nominate their seniors who meet criteria that include a 3.5 GPA or higher on a 4.0 scale, a class rank in the upper 25 percent of one’s class, an SAT score of 1,500 or an ACT score of 23.

Casey helped lead the Braves to a 17-3 record and to their third sectional championship in four years in February. Brown is a junior and helped the Lions to a 15-10 mark in 2013-14 and a spot in the sectional championship game.

Jeffersonville’s Chandler Dale and Eastern’s Jude Olesh were two of the 135 boys named to honorable mention All-State. The girls’ honorable mention list includes Eastern’s Katie Ernstberger, Floyd Central’s Brooke Hinton, Borden’s Sarah Hurst.


Thirteen players, led by Miss Basketball Whitney Jennings of Logansport, have been selected for the 2014 IndyStar.com Indiana Girls All-Stars.

Logansport’s 5-foot-5 guard received 177 votes in the Miss Basketball balloting to capture the top individual honor for the state’s girls’ basketball players. Maura Muensterman of Evansville Mater Dei collected 97 votes to finish as runner-up for Miss Basketball. No other player received more than 10 votes for Miss Basketball.

Jennings recently was chosen to the Parade All-America Team as well as the Gatorade Player of the Year for Indiana. The University of Iowa recruit averaged 32.0 points, eight rebounds, 7.4 assists and five steals as a senior in leading Logansport to a 24-3 record that included North Central Conference, sectional and regional championships.

Jennings headlines a 13-member group of senior All-Stars who will play four games in June — two exhibitions against the Indiana Junior All-Stars as well as home-and-home contests against the Kentucky All-Stars.

Others chosen to the 2014 Indiana Girls All-Stars are Muensterman, Kayla Brown of Westfield, Sydney Buck of Homestead, Caroline Buhr of Penn, Danielle Cuttino of Ben Davis, Kindell Fincher of Fort Wayne Canterbury, Tayler Goodall of Columbus North, Alex Hochstedler of Fishers, Erica Moore of Mt. Vernon (Fortville), Lauren Whitlatch of Bloomington South and Ana Owens and Destiny Washington of Lawrence North.

The head coach for the 2014 Girls All-Stars will be Norwell’s Eric Thornton. He will be assisted by Brownsburg’s Amy Brauman of and Gretchen Miles of Washington.

The Indiana Girls All-Stars will play exhibitions on June 9 and June 11 against the Indiana Junior All-Stars at sites to be determined. The Indiana All-Stars also will face the Kentucky All-Stars on June 13 at Transylvania University in Lexington and June 14 at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis. All four dates will be doubleheaders with the Indiana Boys All-Stars.

The Indiana All-Stars program was founded in 1939 when the Indiana Boys All-Stars played the state champion Frankfort Hot Dogs. The series with Kentucky began in 1940, and the girls’ portion of the All-Stars was added in 1976.

Miss Basketball is selected through a balloting process of coaches and media overseen by game organizers from the IBCA.

— Pat McKee, IBCA Director of Special Projects


More about



Follow us on Facebook