HIGH SCHOOL SOFTBALL: Floyd dominates postseason honors

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, June 18, 2014 10:42 pm

Four of the 15 players named to the All-Hoosier Hills Conference first team are members of the 2014 HHC champion Floyd Central Highlanders.

All-State senior catcher Taylor McClure is joined on the first team by Floyd sophomore teammates Gabbi Jenkins, who was named first-team All-State by the Indiana coaches, and Regan Hadley, along with freshman Taylor Castleberry — the daughter of head coach Scott Castleberry.

Jenkins led the Highlanders with a .455 batting average and a .514 on-base percentage, McClure batted .420 with 25 RBIs, Hadley had a team-best 27 runs batted in and batted .388 and Castleberry hit .446, scored 27 times and stole 16 bases.

“I knew more than anybody coming in what we had,” Scott Castleberry said of his 25-6 squad that won sectional and regional championships. “I knew we were loaded with talent. Talent is one thing, winning is another. The seniors and sophomores pulled together and they had a lot of fun being one team. The talent was obvious on the field and we’ll be loaded again next year.”

Jenkins, who had 23 stolen bases and scored 35 times in 29 games, was named first-team All-State by the coaches. McClure, who had seven doubles and led the Highlanders with a .545 slugging percentage, was named to the third team.

“It’s a big deal,” Castleberry said of his team’s All-State selections. “It shows the respect the other coaches have for what we did as a team and how Gabbie and Taylor contributed to the results.”

Providence senior slugger Lillian Hughes, who batted .494 with six home runs and 33 RBIs, was also named to the All-State third team.

A pair of Jeffersonville and New Albany players each were named first-team All-HHC. Bulldog catcher Danielle Williamson and second baseman Kennedy Wynn and Jeffersonville pitcher/first baseman Emily Gray, who had a 1.90 ERA and batted .333, and Northern Kentucky recruit Emma Coons, who hit .315 in her senior season, received the honor.

Floyd’s Jensen Striegel, New Albany’s Hannah Morton and Jeffersonville Courtney Shepherd were honorable mention all-conference.

Clarksville senior shortstop Ali Sparkman was named to the Indiana Academic All-State team.



    Elyse Babb, Columbus East

    Bree Barnes, Madison

    Emily Bobb, Seymour

    Taylor Castleberry, Floyd Central

    Emma Coons, Jeffersonville

    Emily Gray, Jeffersonville

    Regan Hadley, Floyd Central

    Gabbi Jenkins, Floyd Central

    Dani Kirchner, Jennings County

    Justice Kline, Bedford NL

    Taylor McClure  Floyd Central

    Lisa McIntosh, Jennings County

    Kendyl Olds, Jennings County

    Danielle Williamson, New Albany

    Kennedy Wynn, New Albany


    Gemma Challies, Seymour

    Cassidy Morron, Bedford North Lawrence

    Courtney Shepherd, Jeffersonville

    Hannah Castor, Jennings County

    Jensen Striegel, Floyd Central

    Hannah Morton, New Albany

    Bri Tingle, Madison

    Haley Smalley, Columbus East

More about



Follow us on Facebook