News and Tribune

Breaking News


June 11, 2014

NTSPY nominees, honorees named

Inaugural event will be held June 26

> SOUTHERN INDIANA — A four-person committee met last Wednesday to select nominees and winners of the News and Tribune’s inaugural NTSPY Awards.

Three coaches, three teams and 12 athletes were selected as nominees from an initial list of semifinalists in the following categories: Boys’ Athlete of the Year, Boys’ Single-Sport Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, Girls’ Athlete of the Year, Girls’ Single-Sports Player of the Year and Team of the Year.

The winners will be announced at the award ceremony Thursday, June 26 at the Ogle Center on the campus of Indiana University Southeast.

The boys’ overall Athlete of the Year nominees are Jeffersonville senior Drew Ellis (basketball and baseball), Floyd Central junior Gaige Klingsmith (football and track) and New Albany senior Javen Reeves (basketball and track).

The girls’ overall Athlete of the Year nominees are Charlestown senior Megan Brooks (basketball and track), Providence sophomore Jacquie Hornung (volleyball and softball) and Henryville freshman Cia Greene (cross country and track).

The boys’ Player of the Year — for standouts in a single sport — are Jeffersonville wrestler Gavan Jolley-Little, New Albany running back Tuwan Payton and Clarksville sprinter Marquise Parrish.

The girls’ Player of the Year nominees are all from Floyd Central — volleyball setter Remi Bowman, swimmer Meg Taylor and soccer player Lauren Wyatt.

The nominees for outstanding team are Floyd Central’s state finalist girls’ tennis team, the Providence boys’ soccer state runners-up and the state champion Providence volleyball team.

The Coach of the Year nominees are Silver Creek track coach Darrell Kingery, Providence volleyball coach Terri Purichia and Providence boys’ soccer coach Brandon Rogers.

The nominees and winners were determined by a panel of Greg Burton, Matt Denison, Perry Hunter and Chris Morris.

All 19 Players of the Year throughout the season will also be recognized.

The News and Tribune wants to do more than simply recognize athletic excellence. It will also recognize academics, service and inspiration.

Clarksville’s Ali Sparkman has been named the girls’ Student-Athlete of the Year and Rock Creek Academy’s Jeremiah Wilkinson has been named the boys’ top student-athlete.

WNAS general manager and former New Albany teacher Lee Kelly will be recognized with the Lifetime Achievement Award for his service to students and athletes.

Hall of Fame tennis coach Rick Miller will be honored with the inaugural News and Tribune Inspiration Award.

Brent Rogers of Sounds Unlimited Productions will emcee the event. Steve Day will present the Inspiration Award, while the IU Southeast athletic staff — athletic director Joe Glover, men’s basketball coach Wiley Brown, women’s basketball coach Robin Farris, volleyball coach Eric Brian, women’s tennis coach Brian Sullivan, men’s tennis coach Joe Epkey, baseball coach Ben Reel and softball coach Joe Witten — will be the night’s presenters.

All honorees will be invited guests to the June 26 ceremony. For ticket information, call the Ogle Center at (812) 941-2526 or go to Call News and Tribune publisher Bill Hanson at (812) 206-2134 or e-mail him at with any questions.

A portion of the proceeds will go to the Indiana Special Olympics.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Twitter Updates
Follow us on twitter
NTSPY Awards Ceremony

Photos from the 2014 NTSPY Awards Ceremony held June 26, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA