News and Tribune

June 11, 2014

NTSPY nominees, honorees named

Inaugural event will be held June 26


> SOUTHERN INDIANA — A four-person committee met last Wednesday to select nominees and winners of the News and Tribune’s inaugural NTSPY Awards.

Three coaches, three teams and 12 athletes were selected as nominees from an initial list of semifinalists in the following categories: Boys’ Athlete of the Year, Boys’ Single-Sport Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, Girls’ Athlete of the Year, Girls’ Single-Sports Player of the Year and Team of the Year.

The winners will be announced at the award ceremony Thursday, June 26 at the Ogle Center on the campus of Indiana University Southeast.

The boys’ overall Athlete of the Year nominees are Jeffersonville senior Drew Ellis (basketball and baseball), Floyd Central junior Gaige Klingsmith (football and track) and New Albany senior Javen Reeves (basketball and track).

The girls’ overall Athlete of the Year nominees are Charlestown senior Megan Brooks (basketball and track), Providence sophomore Jacquie Hornung (volleyball and softball) and Henryville freshman Cia Greene (cross country and track).

The boys’ Player of the Year — for standouts in a single sport — are Jeffersonville wrestler Gavan Jolley-Little, New Albany running back Tuwan Payton and Clarksville sprinter Marquise Parrish.

The girls’ Player of the Year nominees are all from Floyd Central — volleyball setter Remi Bowman, swimmer Meg Taylor and soccer player Lauren Wyatt.

The nominees for outstanding team are Floyd Central’s state finalist girls’ tennis team, the Providence boys’ soccer state runners-up and the state champion Providence volleyball team.

The Coach of the Year nominees are Silver Creek track coach Darrell Kingery, Providence volleyball coach Terri Purichia and Providence boys’ soccer coach Brandon Rogers.

The nominees and winners were determined by a panel of Greg Burton, Matt Denison, Perry Hunter and Chris Morris.

All 19 Players of the Year throughout the season will also be recognized.

The News and Tribune wants to do more than simply recognize athletic excellence. It will also recognize academics, service and inspiration.

Clarksville’s Ali Sparkman has been named the girls’ Student-Athlete of the Year and Rock Creek Academy’s Jeremiah Wilkinson has been named the boys’ top student-athlete.

WNAS general manager and former New Albany teacher Lee Kelly will be recognized with the Lifetime Achievement Award for his service to students and athletes.

Hall of Fame tennis coach Rick Miller will be honored with the inaugural News and Tribune Inspiration Award.

Brent Rogers of Sounds Unlimited Productions will emcee the event. Steve Day will present the Inspiration Award, while the IU Southeast athletic staff — athletic director Joe Glover, men’s basketball coach Wiley Brown, women’s basketball coach Robin Farris, volleyball coach Eric Brian, women’s tennis coach Brian Sullivan, men’s tennis coach Joe Epkey, baseball coach Ben Reel and softball coach Joe Witten — will be the night’s presenters.

All honorees will be invited guests to the June 26 ceremony. For ticket information, call the Ogle Center at (812) 941-2526 or go to Call News and Tribune publisher Bill Hanson at (812) 206-2134 or e-mail him at with any questions.

A portion of the proceeds will go to the Indiana Special Olympics.


All award winners and nominees will be invited guests to the 2014 NTSPY Award ceremony at IU Southeast’s Ogle Center on Thursday, June 26. If you would like to attend, you can call the Ogle Center box office at (812) 941-2526 or go to If you have questions, please contact News and Tribune publisher Bill Hanson at (812) 206-2134 or

A portion of the proceeds will go to the Indiana Special Olympics.


Boys’ Athlete of the Year

    Drew Ellis, Jeffersonville baseball/basketball

    Gaige Klingsmith, Floyd Central football/track

    Javen Reeves, New Albany basketball/track

Girls’ Athlete of the Year

    Megan Brooks, Charlestown basketball/track

    Cia Greene, Henryville cross country/track

    Jacquie Hornung, Providence volleyball/softball

Boys’ Player of the Year (single sport)

    Gavan Jolley-Little, Jeffersonville wrestling

    Marquise Parrish, Clarksville track

    Tuwan Payton, New Albany football

Girls’ Player of the Year (single sport)

    Remi Bowman, Floyd Central volleyball

    Meg Taylor, Floyd Central swimming

    Lauren Wyatt, Floyd Central soccer

Team of the Year

    Floyd Central girls’ tennis

    Providence boys’ soccer

    Providence volleyball

Coach of the Year

    Darrell Kingery, Silver Creek track

    Terri Purichia, Providence volleyball

    Brandon Rogers, Providence boys’ soccer


    Girls’ Student-Athlete of the Year — Ali Sparkman, Clarksville

    Boys’ Student-Athlete of the Year — Jeremiah Wilkinson, Rock Creek Academy

    Lifetime Achievement Award — Lee Kelly, WNAS

    Inspiration Award — Rick Miller, Floyd Central


    Girls’ Golf — Eliza Hudson, Floyd Central

    Boys’ Tennis — Logan Charbonneau, New Albany

    Girls’ Cross Country — Lydia Kotowski, Floyd Central

    Boys’ Cross Country — Julien Magallanes, Borden

    Girls’ Soccer — Lauren Wyatt, Floyd Central

    Boys’ Soccer — Varun Alse, Floyd Central

    Football — Tuwan Payton, New Albany

    Volleyball — Remi Bowman, Floyd Central

    Boys’ Swimming — T Martin, Jeffersonville

    Girls’ Swimming — Meg Taylor, Floyd Central

    Wrestling — Gavan Jolley-Little, Jeffersonville

    Boys’ Basketball — Calvin McEwen, Clarksville

    Girls’ Basketball — Kaitlynn Henning, Charlestown

    Girls’ Tennis — Kat Hebble, Silver Creek

    Boys’ Track — Javen Reeves, New Albany

    Girls’ Track — Jayla Bethel, New Albany

    Baseball — Drew Ellis, Jeffersonville

    Softball — Jacquie Hornung, Providence

    Boys’ Golf — Connor Welch, Floyd Central