News and Tribune


December 3, 2012

SPORTS IN BRIEF: Dec. 4, 2012


Bryant, Scott named to Silver Anniversary team

Former Jeffersonville High School standout Paris Bryant and former Graceland Christian standout and 1988 Indiana All-Star David Scott have been selected to the 2013 Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame Men’s Silver Anniversary team.

Bryant ranks fifth on the Red Devils’ all-time scoring list with 1,273 points. Bryant played on Jeff’s 1987 and 1988 sectional championship teams. He went on to play college basketball at three schools, including the University of Wyoming, and professional basketball for 15 years in Europe.

Scott was the all-time leading scorer and rebounder at Graceland Christian, which is now Christian Academy of Indiana. Scott went on to play his college ball at Miami (Ohio), where he currently ranks 11th on the school’s career scoring list. Scott made the all-Mid-American Conference team three times. Scott played pro basketball from 1993-2005 in several countries.

Other members of the Silver Anniversary team are the following: Darrin Archbold, Norwell; Hunter Atkins, Highland; Woody Austin, Richmond; Scott Blum, Oregon-Davis; Eric Dolezal, LaPorte; Greg Gary, Anderson Highland; Brian Good, Rossville; Brian Hogan, Kokomo; Travis Inman, Avon; Shawn Kemp, Concord; Matt Nover, Chesterton; Craig Riley, Fort Wayne Harding; Chandler Thompson, Muncie Central; Derwin Webb, Lawrence North; Henry Williams, Indianapolis Ben Davis; Sean Woods, Indianapolis Cathedral.

The Silver Anniversary team members will be honored at the Hall of Fame men’s banquet on Wednesday, March 20 at the Primo Banquet Hall in Indianapolis.


Area players make IFCA All-State teams

Several Clark-Floyd area players have been selected to the Indiana Football Coaches Association All-State football teams.

Clarksville senior Jake Matthews earned a spot on the Class 2A Senior All-State team as a defensive lineman. Providence junior Owen Mattingly made the Class 2A Junior team as a defensive back.

Two local players received berths on the Class 3A Senior All-State squad. Charlestown senior Leighton Brewer made the team as an offensive lineman, while Silver Creek senior Layne Taylor got on the squad as a defensive back. Charlestown junior Desmond Wiley earned a spot on the Class 3A Junior team as a defensive lineman.

Jeffersonville junior Dionte Allen made the Class 5A Junior All-State squad as a tight end.

Charlestown senior quarterback and defensive back Aaron Daniel was named to the IFCA’s All-State Top 50 players list. But he did not earn a spot on the Class 3A Senior All-State squad.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Twitter Updates
Follow us on twitter
NTSPY Awards Ceremony

Photos from the 2014 NTSPY Awards Ceremony held June 26, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
AP Video
Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue Raw: Corruption Trial Begins for Former Va Gov. The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage