News and Tribune

Breaking News


February 23, 2014

BOYS’ SWIMMING SECTIONAL: Jeff takes fourth straight sectional

Highlanders will have at least five state finalists



Jennings County had a pair of winners on Saturday. Devin Vanosdol beat Jeff’s Evan Lopez to the wall to claim the 200 individual medley and his first sectional crown. Panther junior Trever Wilson was the day’s only repeat winner as he took the 100 breaststroke title.

Seymour’s Chris Robinson won the diving competition with a sectional-record 439.95. Floyd Central’s Hayden Brodfehrer also qualified for Tuesday’s Bloomington North Diving Regional with a third-place finish.

New Albany placed ninth as a team with 99 points, paced by Noah Boone’s seventh in the 100 backstroke, Adam McGaren’s ninth-place finish in the 100 freestyle and a pair of 10th-place finishes from Brady Faust.

Silver Creek was 12th as a team. The Dragons’ top individual finisher was Drew DeWitt, who came in 13th in the 100 freestyle.

Charlestown and Providence tied with Lanesville for 14th place. Charlestown’s Chris Spencer paced the Pirates with a 15th-place finish in the 50 free.



At Highland Hills Middle School

            Team scores: Jeffersonville 487, Floyd Central 394, Jennings County 328, Seymour 284, Madison 128, Corydon Central 100, New Albany 99, Scottsburg 94, Switzerland County 56, Silver Creek 52, Southwestern 49, Salem 27, North Harrison 24, Charlestown 10, Providence 10, Lanesville 10.

            200 medley relay: 1. Floyd Central (Brandon Smith, Noble Guyon, Colin Lyell, Nathan Manias) 1:38.81, 2. Jeffersonville 1:39.00, 9. Silver Creek 2:04.32, 14. Providence 2:26.06.

            200 freestyle: 1. Eli Anderson (F) 1:44.71, 2. Zach Griffis (J) 1:47.14, 4. Marc McCormick (F) 1:48.34, 5. Michael Cain (J) 1:50.50, 6. Zach Daily (J) 1:50.74, 8. Sam Cleveland (F) 1:58.26, 10. Brady Faust (NA) 2:02.42, 11. Drake Miller (NA) 2:03.02.

            200 individual medley: 1. Devin Vansodol (JC) 2:02.07, 2. Evan Lopez (J) 2:04.49, 3. Max Weidekamp (J) 2:04.54, 4t. Sean Kennedy (J) 2:04.97, 4t. Guyon (F) 2:04.97, 8. Matt Byrne (F) 2:10.48, 11. Tanner Allen (F) 2:16.13, 12. Noah Boone (NA) 2:17.30.

            50 free: 1. T Martin (J) 21.36, 2t. Lyell (F) 21.97, 2t. Tyler Sariscsany (J) 21.97, 5. Grant Anderson (F) 23.12, 9. Cameron Simcoe (J) 24.06, 11. Alex Epps (F) 24.35, 14. Jacob Fetters (SC) 25.74, 15. Chris Spencer (Ch) 26.04.

            Diving: 1. Chris Robinson (Se) 439.95*^, 2. Lane Sawyer (JC) 437.95^, 3. Hayden Brodfehrer (F) 317.30^, 4. Noah Anderson (JC) 293.05, 5. Adian Wood (J) 210.05.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Twitter Updates
Follow us on twitter
NTSPY Awards Ceremony

Photos from the 2014 NTSPY Awards Ceremony held June 26, 2014

Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
AP Video
Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA