News and Tribune

December 10, 2013

Graham, Matthews twins make 2014 Silver Anniversary team

Former area stars join Cheaney, Painter on squad


NEW CASTLE — Three former Clark-Floyd area basketball standouts have earned spots on the 2014 Indiana Basketball Hall of Fame’s 2014 Men’s Silver Anniversary Team.

Pat Graham, the only Floyd Central player to be named Indiana Mr. Basketball, made the squad. Joining Graham are New Washington twin brothers Jamie and Scott Matthews. The team was determined by the outstanding accomplishments by senior players from 25 years ago.

This year’s squad has 18 members, which includes all 13 players from the 1989 Indiana All-Star team. Graham and Jamie Matthews were All-Stars that year. The other five players, which includes Scott Matthews, made the Silver Anniversary team based on their stellar performances during the 1988-89 season.

Along with winning Mr. Basketball in 1989, Graham was the IHSAA Trester Award winner, a McDonald’s All-American and an All-State first-team player by three media organizations that season. He also led the Highlanders to their second Final Four appearance in school history in 1989.

Graham ended his Floyd Central career by ranking second on the school’s all-time scoring list with 1,886 points.

Graham went on to play basketball at Indiana University for Hall of Fame coach Bob Knight. Three of Graham’s former Hoosier teammates are on the Silver Anniversary team in Warren Central’s Greg Graham, Bloomington South’s Chris Lawson and Evansville Harrison’s Calbert Cheaney, who became the all-time leading scorer at IU and the Big Ten Conference during his college career.

The Matthews twins led New Washington to its first two sectional championships in school history in 1988 and 1989. Both brothers made the Hall of Fame Classic all-tournament team in 1988.

Jamie Matthews is second on the Mustangs’ all-time scoring list with 1,443 points. Scott Matthews ranks fourth with 1,376 points. Their coach during their New Washington days was their father, Jim Matthews. The elder Matthews is New Washington’s all-time winningest coach and the namesake of the school’s gymnasium.

Another notable member of the 2014 Silver Anniversary team is current Purdue University head men’s basketball coach Matt Painter.

The Boilermakers’ mentor was a standout player at Delta High School near Muncie. Painter made the 1989 Indiana All-Star team and ranks second on the all-time scoring list at Delta with 1,497 points. In ‘89, Painter was named both the Delaware County and East Central Indiana Player of the Year before playing his college ball at Purdue.

The rest of the Silver Anniversary team are David Anderson (Marion), Tony Barbee (Indianapolis North Central), David Hinton (Castle), Rodney Holmes (South Bend St. Joseph’s), Tony McGee (Terre Haute South), Mickey McPherson (Mississinewa), Rich Mount (Lebanon), Matt Petty (Crawfordsville), Kenny Rowan (Northview), Casey Schmidt (Valparaiso) and Nate Tubbs (Fort Wayne Wayne).

All Silver Anniversary team members will be honored at the Hall of Fame’s annual men’s banquet on Wednesday, March 26 at the Primo Banquet Hall in Indianapolis. For reservation information about the banquet, contact the Hall of Fame at 765-529-1891 or or visit the Hall of Fame’s website at

Prior to the banquet, the Silver Anniversary team members will attend a midday reception on March 26 at the Hall of Fame in New Castle. The reception will be free and open to the public.