New Albany junior guard Chris Whitehead is among 18 juniors who were selected Wednesday to the Indiana Junior All-Star team.

Whitehead was among six selected to represent the Southern All-Stars in their two-game series against The Indianapolis Star Indiana All-Stars in games June 7 and 9 at sites to be determined.

Whitehead averaged 18 points per game and scored in double figures in every game this season for the Bulldogs (19-3). According to, he ranked in the states top ten in field goal percentage, 3-point field goal percentage, steals and assists on the season.

Six core players will be joined by six players from the north and south for each game. The core juniors participate in both games leading up to the Indiana-Kentucky All-Star games.

The core players are Michael Chandler (Lawrence North), Marquis Teague (Indianapolis Pike), Nic Moore (Warsaw), Branden Dawson (Gary Wallace), Cody Zeller (Washington) and Dee Davis (Bloomington South).

North players are Austin Etherington (Hamilton Heights), Jeremiah Jones (Merrillville), Jon Trawick (Richmond), Antonio Wilson (Fort Wayne Elmhurst), Tyler Ault (Carroll) and Jeremiah Davis (Muncie Central).

South players are Matt Carlino (Bloomington South), Chris Whitehead (New Albany), Jalen Packer (Princeton), Andrew Smeathers (Center Grove), Ryan Taylor (Lawrence North) and Justin Gant (Terre Haute North).


Trending Video

Recommended for you