New Albany 11U All-Star team

The New Albany 11U All-Star team, which won the recent District 5 Tournament, will face Dyer Little League at 5 p.m. today in its first game of pool play of the State Tournament at Decatur Little League. The team is comprised of Jude Hickman, Zachary Medlock, Max Watson, Lucas Mauk, Duke Beckort, Gavin Jackson, Braden Brewer, Andrew Ciszewski, Braxton Mayfield, Dane Sprigler, Camden Wright, Hayden Krueger and Jack Murphy. It is coached by Brian Mayfield, Brian Jackson and David Brewer.

INDIANAPOLIS — The New Albany 11U All-Star team rolled to a 7-1 win over Dyer Little League in its opening game of the State Tournament on Thursday evening at Decatur Little League.

New Albany tallied three runs in the first inning to take the early lead, then scored two more in the second and third each to take command.

Gavin Jackson led New Albany at the plate, going 3-for-3, and on the mound, tossing 2 2/3 scoreless innings to start the game. Jackson, Braxton Mayfield and Dane Sprigler allowed only three hits combined while striking out seven.

New Albany will face Brownsburg at 8 p.m Friday night in the modified double-elimination, eight-team tournament.


Thursday's pool play game at Decatur Little League


Dyer     001 000 — 1 3 3

New Albany     322 000 — 7 8 1

     W — Gavin Jackson. L — Ramirez. 2B — Braden Brewer (NA). 

Recommended for you